Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether people should choose to be vegetarian or not. I totally agree that more people should choose to be vegan rather than being non-vegetarian diet. In this contemplation I will discuss that why I agree with the following viewpoint.

Less consumption of meat and fish will proportionally affect the demand of these products. Therefore, it would decrease the slaughter of animals and cruelty with which they are killed for human consumption. This would help to maintain the ecological balance between humans and other living beings on this planet. For instance, had homo sapiens restricted hunting in previous centuries then certain species could have been prevented from getting extinct.

Moreover, according to a research processed meat and preserved fish contains carcinogenic chemicals that might prove fatal in the long run for the humans who consume these. Furthermore, vegetarian diet is sufficient for the humans to maintain a healthy body. For instance, Hindu brahmins are a group of people who have been living exclusively on vegetarian diet since ages as their religion prohibits eating flesh and fish. Since centuries humans have hunted animals like goats, sheep, pigs, sharks, chicken, and other such animals for their own survival on earth. However, nowadays people no longer require hunting as there is surplus food through cultivation on land. This is beneficial for not only for their own health as their body would not be exposed to harmful cancer causing chemicals but it will also benefit the whole world ecosystems.

In conclusion, I reiterate that unlike previous era humans are no longer dependent on animal meat for their food chain. Since there is ample food available through agriculture we no longer should kill animals for the sake of our taste buds. Will this generation ever understand this? Still remains a question.