Some people believe that it is possible for a country to be economically successful and have a clean environment. Others argue that these two aims are not compatible. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently there is a contentious argument over the fact that whether it is possible for a nation to be economically successful and have a clean environment or these two goals cannot coexist together. Economic growth is often accompanied with industrial revolution and results in technological advancements which mostly result in air pollution. In this essay I will discuss both views and then conclude by giving my opinion.

Beyond any qualms there are a myriad of logical rationales that prove that the two goals of economic growth and a clean environment can exist parallel. Economic growth is generally a result of increase in the literacy rate and when such trained and intellectual individuals invade the business world they directly lead to economic development of the nation. Educated people are more sensible and can be easily educated regarding the need for a clean environment. For example, developed countries with a high literacy rate such as Switzerland and Norway have negligible air pollution issues. This fact is a clear indication that proves that both the goals can coexist together.

On the contrary, some people believe that education is not a certainty for people to ensure a clean environment. Statistical data comparing literacy rate with the rise of air pollution shows skewed results. For example, countries like India with almost two third of the population literacy rate have high air pollution concerns. Moreover, with the decent economic growth in developed states such as Delhi and Mumbai the issue of air pollution has increased over years. As these places have more immigrants in search of jobs and issues of overpopulation and overcrowding has led to expansion of cities, deforestation and resulting air pollution.

In conclusion, I believe that government should impose rules that mandate the people to seek a solution for causing less air pollution. Although the two goals can certainly coexist; but the only problem is to change the mindset of people who are responsible for causing environment issues. Without making compulsion for following the rules the two goals cannot be achieved together. Will the government of such countries take stringent action? Still remains a question.