As people live longer and longer, the idea of cloning human beings in order to provide spare parts is becoming a reality. The idea horrifies most people, yet it is no longer mere science fiction.

To what extent do you agree with such a procedure?

Have you any reservations?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Cloning of animals has been done since ages to improve the species of animals and improve their breeds. The idea of gaining immortality has always attracted humans and therefore extensive research has been conducted to prolong the life of human beings by replacing the defective organs from human beings clones. Although this idea remains controversial on moral and ethical grounds but it is no more an impossibility in today’s scientifically advanced era. Human cloning is a controversial issue and in this essay I will discuss whether I agree or disagree with this idea.

Beyond any qualms the idea of prolonging the life of our beloved ones is a fairly attractive vision. There are a myriad of logical ideas to support the theory of human cloning. On one hand, there are millions of children who die due to congenital birth defects. Making human clones for providing spare parts will give them a chance to live life. For example, congestive heart failure is caused due to a defect in heart ventricles which are unable to pump blood due to hole in heart. In such cases the patient who is born with this defect might be able to live a long life if they receive spare heart from human clones.

On the contrary, many others believe that it is ethically wrong to make human clones as it will disturb the balance of nature. Humans have evolved by the process of natural selection and they has since ages tried to mold the nature according to their own benefits and greed. Since ages this has proved to be harmful for their survival on earth. For example, the recent COVID19 outbreak has again proved that our survival might become threatened when we try to play with the nature and our environment. Therefore, human cloning can prove harmful as it will disturb the balance and ratio between elderly and younger population.

In conclusion, I believe that it is wrong to make human clones as it will disturb the balance of nature and can prove harmful for our future generations. However, will it be utilized to treat birth defects in children? Still remains a question.