With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see it as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether the decline in paper books and rises in e-books is a positive development or not. Popularity of e-books is rapidly increasing due to the ease of use and availability of the books within minutes on the click of a button. In this essay I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend leading to decline in paper books.

Beyond any qualms there are countless advantages of using e-books. Digital media platforms such as kindle provides books in an environment friendly way as trees are not required to be cut down to make paper. Also, customers get digital books comparatively cheaper as shipping cost is not required as transfer of media occurs through internet as digital media. For instance, Kindle subscribers can get some books in as low as one dollar cost price as compared to paper books.

On the contrary others believe that this trend has many disadvantages. While the current generation remains glued to mobile phones and television and if books also start coming in digital e-book platforms then their screen time will increase further and ophthalmic issues are likely to occur. Moreover, if the same trend continues then children will no longer be required to attend schools as the classes can be held online through e-books which will increases the issues related to isolation such as depression, bipolar disorders, schizophrenia, suicidal tendencies, anxiety etc.

In conclusion, I believe that e-books are increasingly gaining popularity due to ease of use and availability of books within a fraction of seconds. However, if the same trend continues then the social isolation trend will further increase and mental health issues could happen. Would this trend continue to increase mental health issues among school children? Still remains a question.