Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles.

Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether the leisure time should be used to improve cognitive skills or should be spend in resting. In this contemplation, I will discuss both the viewpoints and then conclude my opinion.

Activities such as solving Sudoku puzzles, reading, and doing crossword helps to challenge our brain to outperform. Therefore, the neurosensory system works harder when faced with a novice signal that was never seen before. For instance, a research found that kids who were involved in cognitive activities that requires brain exercise were found to be more intelligent then students who spend time in sleeping.

On the contrary, others feel that it is more important to rest for a while before being continuously involved in some kind of thought process. Due to this reason people are researching about the benefits of meditation which involves sitting idle and focusing on breathing. For example, numerable research articles are published that prove the beneficial power of providing rest to our brain by meditation exercise. Other activities such as doing yoga, going for a holiday and playing guitar are some of the relaxing activities that people often indulge in for relaxing their brain. I believe that it is more important to take a break and rethink before starting the day. People of 21st century are already leading a busy life filled with distractions, multitasking and engagements. Therefore, I believe that it is important to rest the mind while spending time in leisure. Relaxing activities might vary from person to person but the time should be spend at ease with minimal brain activity.

In conclusion, I reiterate that resting our mind is quintessential for our brain to achieve the maximum working capacity. Our brains also needs to recharge after a busy work schedule and rewire itself before starting a new day.