Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether advertising encourages us to buy unnecessary things or it helps us to discover the things that are new in the market. I agree that it helps to discover new innovations that might make our lives easier.

Advertisements impart knowledge about new innovations in technology. Customers like me who are living in rural areas are mostly unaware about the advancements in latest technology. Television adverts and radio announcements broadens our horizons about the new products in the market. For instance, an advertisement about antioxidant properties of green tea was shown on television that not only helped my grandmother to get rid of gastritis but also helped her to remain more active after using it.

Another benefit is this that advertisements about certain products can save time and effort and even makes our lives easier. Products such as automatic washing machines, food processor, mixer grinder, bread maker, and dish washer were introduced in the market in early 19th century. However, most people became aware about the usability of such products only after watching the practical use of these things from advertisements.

On the contrary, some people believe that commercials often trap the customers in buying things that they really do not need. However, I believe that impulse buying happens even when we visit shopping malls and advertisements cannot be solely blamed for this. The advantages of marketing outweigh the disadvantages. Moreover, it gives a platform for new businesses to showcase their products in market.

In conclusion, I reiterate that TV commercials and radio announcements are helping us to discover new products available in the market. The decision to buy the product should be made after proper research by the customers.