You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Currently there is a contentious argument over making education free for all regardless of income. While institutional fee waiver is beneficial for low socioeconomic belt who cannot afford to pay for the education but it has its own disadvantages. I totally disagree that free education should be provided to all the students. In this essay I will discuss that why I disagree regarding free education facilities.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of rational reasons that prove that collecting education fees from students is beneficial for maintaining the standard of education. Finances accumulated from student funds are utilized for providing high salaries and incentives to the teachers which in turn acts as the prime motivation factor for the teachers to perform their job in the best possible endeavor. Moreover, college facilities such as college mess, laboratories, sports and recreational equipment cannot be sponsored without sufficient funds whose main source is student’s fees. For instance, when we compare the facilities of private school children with those of government schools in India we can well understand that public schools are far better than the government schools.

On the contrary, some people believe that making education free to all, irrespective of income will enable the brilliant minds from poor strata of the society to rise to the level of economically stable students. However, I believe that when a person is talented then education fees can never be an obstacle. For instance, history gives innumerable examples of thousands of people who were born in poor families such as Wright brothers, Thomas Edison, Mary curie etc. who paved the way for success from their will power.

In conclusion, I believe that a good education facility comes at a price and the students should be willing to pay the price irrespective of the level of earnings. This will enable the Universities to maintain a healthy, safe and high-tech environment for the students to thrive. Would this be possible without enough financial help from students? I doubt!