Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether free health services should be available in all the nations or not? It might be at the cost of exempting the latest medical treatments as these are too expensive. I totally agree that free medical services are necessary.

Firstly, providing free medical services would give a sense of security to the residents of the country. Since the people would no longer be required to save for a bad day. Therefore, whenever anyone would require any emergency medical treatment they would at least be able to get the basic first aid and diagnosis of the underlying ailment. For instance, a person residing in a rural area might be able to receive emergency treatment for a heart attack as the government has a free community health center in the area where no private clinic exists due to the remote location of the village.

On the contrary, some people believe that free treatments are useless in the absence of latest medical aids. However, I do not agree that this is true. Basic first aid for any ailment does not necessarily require some expensive machinery. An epinephrie injection along with basic first aid from an experienced doctor might as well save a life or at least save time for reaching an advance care facility. For instance, a study shows that three fourth of the rural population in India is reliant on the free health facilities provided by the government. Moreover, concentrating on latest medical treatments which are often expensive would require hospitals to charge more treatment costs to recover the cost of the costly machines. Therefore, this system would deprive the low socio-economic sections from getting the necessary treatment.

In conclusion, I reiterate that basic medical facilities are quintessential for the residents of any country. Free medical treatments not only provide a sense of security but it also provides a basic first aid for the patients in rural areas where no private facilities exist.