You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport constuction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations.

Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Currently there is a contentious argument over whether the government should impose taxes in order to reduce air traffic or not. I believe that taxing the aviation industry would help in reducing the number of low-cost passenger flights. In this essay I will discuss that why I agree that the government should impose heavy taxes to reduce air traffic.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of rationale reasons that prove that air traffic is unnecessarily causing environmental damage. Airports construction is causing deforestation while air traffic is causing noise pollution and air pollution. Low-cost passenger flights destined to holiday destinations is causing destruction of flora and fauna of the tourist places and irreparable environmental damage. For example, beaches of Goa are often scattered with broken beer bottles, polythene waste and plastic bottles floating in oceans threatening marine ecosystem. Taxing air industry will increase the cost of flights which will reduce the unnecessary tourist inflow to famous places. While the tourism industry might suffer but the amount of environmental damage in the form of air, water and noise pollution would be reduced significantly.

On the contrary, some people believe that taxing the aviation industry will cause economic loss as tourism industry brings business opportunities for the locals living in tourist places. However, I believe that loss of a source of income is a temporary issue but destruction of ecosystem caused by overcrowded tourist places and environmental damage is an irreversible and permanent issue. To prevent extinction of rare species and to preserve the ecological balance it is high time that humans understand the responsibility towards our mother Earth.

In conclusion, I believe that aviation industry is a boon for the economic and financial growth but it causes irreparable environmental damage. If we want our successors to enjoy this beautiful nature with fresh environment and healthy marine life it is our responsibility to keep it clean and healthy. Would this generation understand this issue? Still remains a question.