Some people support modern developments in agriculture such as factory farming and creation of new types of fruits and vegetables. However, other people oppose this view.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is currently a contentious argument between technological advancements in agriculture where factory farming is becoming a norm and traditional farming practices. While some people believe that factory farming is more convenient and has more advantages but others believe that ancient agricultural techniques were much better. In this essay I will discuss both the views and give my opinion.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of logical thoughts that prove the ability of factory farming to produce better quality and quantity of crops than the normal farming. Firstly, it allows easy access to produce genetically modifies food that gives a better shelf life to the farm produce and ensures that the produce will sustain longer in the market. It also helps to add more variety of fruits and vegetables. Moreover, in factory farming the annual output of the final yield remains unaltered by the extreme weather conditions such as drought and floods.

On the contrary, others believe that industrial farming has led to loss of income and the only source of livelihood for the small scale farmers. While land farming allows growers to earn bread and butter for their families but with the advent of industrial farming practices it might become difficult for them as their farm produce is directly dependent on the weather conditions. Moreover, the land farming produces better variety of organic produce as compared to the factory farming.

In conclusion, I believe that factory farming will benefit the higher socio-economic strata of the society while the poor and middle class people will lose their jobs and source of income. Therefore a middle way should be devised so that factory farming helps to increase the quality and quantity of the agricultural produce but not at the expanse of affecting the livelihood of the land farmers.