Some believe that charitable organizations should help people no matter where they live. Others argue that charities should only help those living in the country where the charity is based. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently there is a contentious argument over the whether charitable trusts should provide relief to citizens of their own country or to people living outside their home country as well? I believe that the charitable trusts obtain money and trust from the citizens of their own country so it will be unfair to betray the trust of their own citizens by using that money to provide relief to the people of outside nations. In this essay I will discuss both the views and then explain the rationale behind my views on this.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of logical reasons that prove that NGOs and other charitable trusts constitute the necessary frontline workforce in case of any natural calamity such as earthquake or tsunami. People from all over the country make their own share of monetary contribution when they realize that the citizens of their own country need their help. For example, during the recent COVID-19 outbreak PM relief fund was flooded with enormous relief amount by people depositing money from all over the country. Had this been the case for helping the people of another country would the citizens had gone an extra mile to help? I doubt that!

On the contrary, others believe that it is pessimistic to think in this way. They believe that humanity is above any race, religion or nationality. The charitable institutes should not be restricted to help the people of another country for the sake of humanity. This will also improve the international bonding among the two countries and increase the harmonious ties with the neighboring nations.

In conclusion, I believe that although it is better for charities to provide help irrespective of case, religion or nation, however; this approach is quiet impractical, The citizens who are responsible for contributing towards the finances for such charities will be hesitant as they might not be emotionally linked to the distress of the citizens of another nation. Will this approach ever be successful? Still remains a question.