You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn, and should not have to pay tax to the state.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Currently there is a contentious argument over whether paying taxes is necessary or people should be allowed complete tax exemption. General population paying for the taxes is considered as a responsibility of the citizens for their country. I totally disagree that people should be allowed to save the money they earn without paying the required taxes. In this essay I will elaborate that why I believe that a part of money from all the citizens should be collected for the benefit of the nation.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of rationale reasons that prove that economic growth of nations is dependent on the hard work of the citizens and the resulting tax collected from them. All sorts of government services starting from public transportation to public healthcare are totally dependent on the money which is collected from the taxes. If general population suddenly decides to stop paying taxes than they lose the right to avail all the essential public services. For example, countries such as India where tax slab is less remains a developing nation even today whereas, Canada is a developed country because people pay high taxes.

On the contrary, some people believe that government should not have the right to demand the tax amount from the citizens. However, I believe that it is the government of the country who is responsible for maintaining the law and order of the country. Citizens cannot rely for healthcare and other services on private companies who are profit oriented. Government services are managed in such a way that they provide services to people irrespective of profitability. For instance, a government hospital will continue to run irrespective of profit or loss.

In conclusion, I believe that paying taxes to government is beneficial for the citizens and economic growth of the nation as well. It is a true saying that as you sow so shall you reap. Therefore, one cannot expect economic enrichment without paying for the facilities from their own pocket money.