Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently there is a contentious argument over whether keeping pets at home is a good option or a bad option for children. While pets can be a constant companion for kids at home however, they can also create a constant mess at home. In this essay I will elaborate both the views and discuss that why I think that keeping pets is a good option for increasing the cognitive development of kids.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of rational reasons that support the idea of keeping pet animals at home for kids. All children need a partner in crime at home with whom they can play and express their emotions of care and warmth. Since fathers are busy in their daily jobs and mothers are involved in household chores therefore, babies who spend time playing with pets are likely to develop both mentally and emotionally. For instance, studies have shown that kids having any pets at home were more likely to become empathetic towards animals in general and have less depressive and anxiety issues than single children.

On the contrary others believe that domesticating animals such as dogs and cats is harmful for a baby’s safety and is also unhygienic. Sometimes a naughty kid might raise an angry reaction in the form of dog bite by constantly irritating a pet dog. These kinds of injuries could leave a lifelong injury mark and might cause serious injuries to kids. Moreover, maintaining hygiene is another issue faced by pet owners. Dog or cat excreta can cause unhealthy environment for kid’s growth. If the excreta of dog are not cleaned than it might cause bacterial growth and create an unsafe environment for the kids at home.

In conclusion, I believe that domesticating pets at home is a challenging and responsible decision for the parents. However, it is overall beneficial for the emotional and healthy mental state of kids and adults if we take care of the cleanliness and immunization of the pets. Would the pet owners take this responsibility? Still remains a question.