The only reason to work hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Money is a necessity that acts as the motivation to work hard for most of the people. Currently there is a contentious argument that whether one’s motivation to work should be either money or not. I totally disagree that the stimulation behind job should be money as I believe that deriving joy from our work should be the impetus for our work and not financial necessity.

Beyond any qualms there a myriads of logical reasons that prove that money should not be the motivation to work hard but rater job satisfaction should be the main focus. There comes a point of time when a person who hates his work and is just doing it for the sake of money starts showing temper and other psychological issues. Statistical analysis shows that two third of the people living in metro cities of India suffer from depression and psychological issues due to insufficient job satisfaction. They continue working in MNCs to provide support for their family and themselves financially and meanwhile suffer from mental health issues. Suicide rate is constantly increasing in urban population and the main cause is linked to cognitive stress due to stressful work environment.

On the contrary some people believe that job satisfaction is a luxury that only few can engage. There are millions of people who work hard not because they enjoy what they do but for the sake of money. Money is the prime necessity for survival on this planet. Without money a person loses his worth in the society. For example, a laborer cannot start complaining that he does not enjoy his work and leave job. Also, a well-qualified professional working in a multinational complaint cannot abruptly decide to leave job just because he does not enjoy his work as he has to look after the family and his monthly EMI. However, if such people continue to work then it is likely to deteriorate their mental health.

In conclusion, I believe that we have only one life and there is no purpose of living when we are not happy. On an average a person spends two-third of his time in his workplace. When that time is spend in anxiety and stress than sooner or later the person is likely to suffer mentally, emotionally and physically as well. Therefore, it is necessary that we love our work and not spend our golden years to work for money. Would this generation understand this problem? Still remains a question.