In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

A healthy mind resides in a healthy body. In certain countries the average body weight is increasing while overall health is declining. In this contemplation, I will discuss the cause of these issues and the measures that can be taken to prevent these.

Firstly, with the advent of technology the people of twenty first century no longer require any physical labor. Therefore, this generation spends three fourth of their day glued to the laptop. Rest of the day is spent in travelling from work to home. Due to this sort of white collar jobs, people now suffer from health issues caused by prolonged sitting. These include obesity, hypertension, diabetes, depression, insomnia and cognitive disorders. For instance, a study reported that almost sixty percent of the population of USA does not have time for any kind of workout in their daily routine.

Moreover, people nowadays involve in binge eating habits especially involving junk food. While junk food can be available in few minutes, it is even inexpensive. This leads to serious health issues such as diabetes or even cancer.

It is high time that we should take measures to prevent the issue of obesity and avoid exaggeration of health problems related to increasing body weight. Firstly, the adolescents should make a habit of spending at least one hour every day in some kind of physical workout. Also, the teenagers should be advised by their parents to restrict the intake of junk food. Furthermore, educational campaigns should be launched for school children to spread awareness about the importance of physical fitness by involving in strength training, healthy eating, running, yoga or brisk walking.

In conclusion, I would reiterate that that obesity is a serious issue especially in developed countries. The youth should be aware about the serious health implications of obesity. It is high time that we look into this matter before the problems aggravates.