Ankita Agarwal

8:24 AM (7 minutes ago)

to kdude37

Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Currently there is a contentious argument whether the trend of universities offering online courses is a positive development or not. In the following contemplation I will explain why I believe it to be a negative development.

Universities offer online courses so that they do not need to invest in infrastructure and transportation. Universities benefit from internet courses as most of the student fees remain a profit. Students rarely benefit from such courses because they lack any practical knowledge related to such courses. Since most online programs are focused on theoretical lectures so students are not able to gain any practical skills. For instance, research states that dental students who attended hands-on training proved to be more skilled than dentists who learned from online courses. Skill based courses like dentistry, cooking, art-making, baking cannot be learned by viewing videos online unless hands-on training is given to the students on a regular basis.

On the contrary, other people believe that online courses are better as now people can benefit from professional degrees globally without wasting time and money on travel. However, I disagree with this viewpoint. When students attend actual classes, they meet like minded people whom they interact with on a daily basis. Therefore, they make professional connections and develop professionally and personally. For instance, the job market in Canada gives huge importance to professional references and recommendations from colleagues already working in the corporate sector. This highlights the importance of making friends in professional life which is not possible through online courses.

In conclusion, I reiterate that the growing trend of internet courses is a waste of time and money. Students should opt for actual classes where they would make professional connections and gain practical experience along with their classmates.