Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

The trend of delivering courses online by various institutes is burgeoning these days. In my opinion, this is a very negative development that leads to distractions in studies and isolates students from society.

Firstly, Lack of concentration in studies at home is the major problem. That is to say, classrooms in colleges are designed in such a way that pupils can focus fully on their work that might not be possible at knows due to distraction by family members which cast an adverse effect on the grades of children. Moreover, in universities, learners are under the supervision of their teachers, thus it becomes essential for them to pay attention. In a recent survey conducted at the end of 2020, when students were taught wired due to the COVID-19 epidemic, a drastic fall has been seen in the performance of youngsters.

Social isolation is another prominent consequence of delivering lectures online. In other words, when youngsters visit universities to attend lectures, they socialize with people having varied interests, therefore, it helps them to maintain a social circle which further gives rise to unity and harmony, but learning on the internet make them detached from their friends and family, and they generally confined under the four walls of their house and also might have to face some serious psychometric issues such as anxiety and depression. Medical research has shown that about 45% of people are suffering from mental issues because they do not mix up with their peers.

On balance, although the trend of doing networked courses is becoming popular, it has bought too many problems for this to be considered a positive trend.