Some people say that too much time and resources are spent on the protection of wild animals and birds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since Homo sapiens evolved to establish their territory on earth, they overpowered almost all the species that came in the way of their survival on earth. Currently there is a contentious argument over whether the money spent on preservation of wild animals is unreasonably high. I totally disagree with this statement and in the following essay I will discuss both the views and conclude why I disagree with this statement.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of logical reasons that prove that it is necessary to spend resources and money for preventing the extinction of rare species. Humans killed wild animals that could not be kept as pet, moreover, they also reared docile birds and animals for their own selfishness to eat their flesh. Already most of the rare species have gone extinct and if we fail to preserve the few species that are left then we are likely to disturb the balance of nature. This is certainly going to threaten our own survival on Earth. For example, the recent COVID-19 outbreak is a live example of playing with the laws of nature and disturbing the balance of nature by humans can prove to be fatal for us.

On the contrary, some people believe that too much money is spent on wildlife protection and instead this money can be utilized for research and development or for scientific endeavors such as Mars mission. However, I believe that while we try to find life on another planet it is more important to preserve the life on our planet Earth. Research and development is important but so is the survival of rare species as once extinct it cannot be reversed.

In conclusion, utilizing financial resources for the safety and survival of wildlife is necessary. They constitute an important part of the food chain and help in maintaining the balance of nature without which our own life could be endangered. Would humans ever understand these consequences? Still remains a question.