Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether the architecture of new buildings in metropolitan cities should be controlled by government or not. I totally agree that the design of the newly constructed buildings should be according to the government rules.

Government intervention over the design of new apartments would increase the safety of the new buildings. Since same rules would apply for construction of all the buildings therefore, the government would ensure that the safety of people is not compromised. For instance, government rules would ensure that the builders follow the norms related to safety such as earthquake resistance, compulsory fire extinguishers and regular maintenance of elevators. Such rules would decrease the chances of construction of illegal buildings that are vulnerable to collapse and kill thousands of innocent people.

On the contrary, other people argue that the design of the buildings should be decided by the financial investor whose money is at stake. However, I disagree with this viewpoint. Financial investors mostly focus on gaining profits from the buildings sometimes even at the cost of compromising the safety of the people. For example, the news of a newly constructed society building that collapsed killing thousands of people went viral few years ago. Such incidents cannot be stopped unless the government introduces strict designing regulations that are alike for all the buildings. Another reason for introducing government control is this that it would decrease the chances of illegal construction on public land such as roadside, sidewalk, footpaths etc.

In conclusion, I reiterate that it is necessary that the government must intervene and implement strict control over the design of newly constructed buildings. This would ensure that no illegal construction is allowed and would also ensure the safety of the construction sites.