Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Salary is the main motivation behind working in a nine to five corporate job setup for most of the employees working in metro cities. To be able to pay their bills and loans is the main impetus for employees to continuing their jobs. I disagree with the view that based upon the ability to produce and sell a product should form a basis for deciding the salary of any worker.

Beyond any qualms there are a myriad of logical reasons to prove that productivity of any employee cannot be decided solely on the basis of ability to create and trade a product. I believe that a person working in the back office whose job is to make sure that the internet and server problems are not faced by any employee in the office are also contributing for the overall goal of the company. For example, in a sales office IT office workers who are given the job to make sure that the resources do not waste their time to look for server issues and other IT related problems are making an equally important impact for the success of the company overall. Therefore, it is unfair to think that workers on the front-line are solely running the company and to give whole credibility and salary to them. If the above argument had been true that back end employees will get no salary at all.

On the contrary, some people believe that giving salary on the basis of individual’s ability to sell and produce defines their overall monetary contribution for their organization and thus it is them who should receive the bonus. Moreover, they also believe that it will motivate other employees to compete with their colleges and hence increase their motivation to work hard. Furthermore, those workers who take advantage of the current corporate setup will no longer benefit when the salary will be based on the amount of monetary gains the employees bring for the institution.

In conclusion, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of this system. It is totally unfair to form production and sales as the criteria for getting salary. Most of the businesses will collapse if this system would be introduced as the back end employees will lose their enthusiasm and zest for the job. Will the current company structure understand these motives? Still remains a question.