Employers should give longer holidays to employees to encourage them to do their jobs well. Do you agree?

In this modern era, the increase in a workload and versatile work environment has made the job more challenging. Employees get mentally tired and required to have a break from their mediocre life. It is argued that the employers should offer more extended vacations to a workforce which is partly agreed in further discussion.

Many employees are working away from their native or family; they tend to take big vacations at once to visit their hometown and spend some quality time with their acquaintances. In India, workers usually take holidays at once annually, to enjoy and take part in their cultural festivals of the same religions. For example, Ganapati for Maharashtrians, Christmas for Christians, Navratri for Gujaratis and so on. such timely vacations also make unplanned get together with their friends as well as relatives, enriching their mindfulness when they are back to their daily routine.

Furthermore, the monotonous job also makes the employees get mentally tired and bored, often chasing errands for career progression and appraisals. Majority of employers prefer giving short holidays over the long vacation for critical job applications. Such employees must be motivated by providing perks and incentives on their successful completion of responsibilities to encourage job satisfaction. Nevertheless, day release programmes for skill upliftments can prove beneficial to both. On the contrary, such programmes will generously create a healthy relationship among various team levels in an organisation and also among the hierarchy of the system.

Longer holidays are always expected by the employees, which can give greater efficacy and productivity. Still, in some situations, it can be avoided by subsidising pay increments and other benefits to improve the employability of the company.