Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Now a days, we observe that a lot of candidates may apply for a single position so, in order to shortlist relevant candidates, employers ask for candidate information that may also include enquiries for personal information such as hobbies and marital status. There is a disagreement between two school of thoughts where one believes that this information is useful while the other disagrees with this. I, personally, believe that getting information like hobbies/interests is usually useful in selecting right people for right job.

First, I would say that it is a win-win situation for employer and employee if a person is selected for the most suitable role as per his capabilities. To achieve this, information about the role and the candidate plays the vital role. As candidate should be aware of the demands and expectations of the job, similarly, employer should be aware about the profile of candidate and this can only be achieved by asking questions about the candidate. Some candidates may be professionally up to the mark for getting the job, but their interests may make them not suitable for that role. For example, if an Engineer is applying for a role of backend developer and his interest are to interact with people or to work in a lively environment. But the role may require working from home or this is maybe a short team with almost no interaction with other people. In this way, employer can guide the candidate that this job has a clash with you interests. Similarly, marital status can have some relationship to the role or job. So it is beneficial for both candidate and employer to have the personal information that may be relevant to job.

On the contrary, there is a school of thought who believes that asking personal information is not essential and this should not be enquired. They do argue that some people may not be comfortable in providing the information but due to their interest in the job they have no choice to provide. Furthermore, personal data provided can be misused and there is always a chance for data leakage. So, to avoid such situation, personal data gathering should be avoided.

Concluding the above discussion, I would say that asking for personal information that may be somehow relevant to the job is useful. Information may be disposed of after the completion of hiring process. Having all the relevant information is essential for assigning right person to the right role and that is beneficial for both the parties