Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some pp say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both side and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, many employers ask the applicant about personal information such as interest, hobby, and relationship status. While some people argue that such information is entirely irrelevant to the company as it has no direct relationship with the work output, I agree with those who believe that It can be useful to judge the personality and responsibility of an individual.

To begin with, there are two reasons why personal information is non-essential. First, it is clear that interests and hobbies have no impact on the performance of individuals, which means that if an employee and another employee like playing cricket, you cannot judge their work passion on the basis of the type of their hobbies. Additionally, applicants with marital status as single may not devote extra time to the company as they may be more interested in pursuing their hobbies than spending time with clients. A single individual may have daily hangout plans with his friends, while a married person can have more time as he stays more most of the time. Thus, relationship status is not a criterion for such judgement.

However, it has some aspects why personal information may be suitable to identify an individual, and one of them is the ability to adapt to this job. If a person is involved in sports activities such as football and cricket, he is physically active and energetic. Such individuals often have a sharp response to the office work and are able to complete their tasks in time. Moreover, knowing the marital status of the job applicants helps the company to judge the family responsibilities on them, which helps in predicting their ability for over-time or work–emergency situations. Take start-ups company as a particular example. They hire people who are willing to work extra and can attend calls after their work-time. So, they prefer recruiting people who are single.

To recapitulate, I believe while personal information is not an efficient criterion for work performance, it can help an employer get some useful insights into the personality traits of an individual.