Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this ? What are the advantages and disadvantages ?

Many people choose to settle and remain in their birthplace for their entire life. This may be due to feeling secure in a known location, and has the advantage of continual family support. However, they may risk missing many opportunities by doing so.

Change can be frightening, especially large changes like moving away from a comfortable and secure situation. Most people are risk averse and will only change if they are tangible benefits such as a major penicury improvement. For this reason, many people choose to stay in one location for the entirely of their lives. Another reason is that they may not be able afford to relocate to another area. Moving can be a financially hazardous undertaking and individuals may prefer not to take the risk.

The major advantage of remaining in one place is the support from family and friends. By living in close proximity to parents there is built in baby-sitting for example and the knowledge that should times become difficult the option of moving back into the parental home is available. Not only that but family bonds between the generations can become stronger as they are able to spend more time with each other more easily.

Yet refraining from moving away can lead to lost opportunities, especially in one’s career. To improve your professional standing and income usually requires obtaining superior job which may not be available close by. Refusing to move can mean stagnating in your career and being financially worse off in the long run.

In conclusion, relocating from one’s birthplace can be confronting, especially if one is risk averse. Staying put also builds strong family relationships and the safety of familial support. However it does mean that an individual may miss out on opportunities related to their careers.