Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born.

What might be the reasons for this?

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

There are few people who have lived most of their lives close to the cities where they were born. In this essay, I will discuss two main reasons why one would choose to stay close including in-depth knowledge of the city and the possibility of helping old parents whenever required. Although there are big advantages like emotional and financial support from family and relatives, there are also a few disadvantages that one might face including lack of exposure and high dependency on parents.

People who have been living long enough in the same city know it really well. They are aware of all the happening places nearby. For example, the best restaurant to eat at, affordable markets to go shopping, etc. Additionally, in case of an emergency, they can reach their families and friends in no time. For instance, last summer my friend's father had a heart attack and fortunately, he could reach the hospital in time to see him off in the operation theatre. These are a few of many reasons why one would settle where they grew up.

There are also great advantages to this situation including having emotional and financial support from family, relatives and friends. Festival season is one of the times when people living far away miss their homes and loved ones. It feels lonely and depressing being by yourself. Therefore, those who live in the same city enjoy the perks of being close to everybody. Furthermore, the financial burden can is decreased as everything required in life, more or less, is provided for. For example, there is no need to construct a new house while a parental or ancestral property is already built. Both these factors serve as big advantages if one lives in their native place.

However, staying in the same area maximum of your life would take away the chance to explore new cities, cultures, cuisines and the possibility to make new friends. When in a foreign place, one needs to push themselves out of their comfort zone and do things which they would not do otherwise. Not being able to do these things have huge disadvantages on its own.

In conclusion, knowing the area very well and being able to help their old parents in times of emergency are the main reasons one might choose to live nearby their birth-place. Though one might get emotional and financial stability in this scenario, there is a downside to this of not having the opportunity to experience new places and cultures because of which they will not be able to push their limits and further grow in life.