Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born.

What might be the reasons for this?

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, with the help of modern technology and vast improvements in communication and transportation, people are getting closer and closer than ever. This makes living far away in a whole different country become a reality that even an ordinary person can achieve. Despite this fact, there is a portion of people who still prefer to be accommodated near their hometown. This essay will explain the underneath motive for this action and delve into its pros and cons.

It is undeniable that living in the same environment provides people with a sense of security and comfort. Conventionally, teenagers are expected to move out and live independently of their parents from the age of 18 to 22. But after many years of getting used to their hometown, changing to a completely different environment is a hard decision to make. Those who accept to move will usually experience insecurity and discomfort as a result. Secondly, a majority of people with stable occupations and finances would not tend to move their accommodation without any serious problems at their place. It is a natural behavior that people will prefer growing their assets and social position at their current place rather than starting everything all over again.

It is a fact that people favor living close to where they’re born as social connection is necessary. Staying close to relatives and acquaintances is one of the essential benefits that people gain. This will nourish people’s relationships, which helps with their mental health, and sometimes provide other aid like job opportunities or business chances based on those relationships' perks. On the other hand, some people believe that living in a similar area will limit one’s growth and vision. Without learning and discovering new knowledge from different parts of the world, people’s horizons will not be broadened. Last but not least, staying in an identical place makes people familiar with negativity. This means that the longer a person lives in one area, the easier for that person to be exposed to some particular negative acts and crimes.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the reasons and stated that there are good reasons for staying close to where people were born and also some negative sides to it. Although there are two sides to this matter, choosing where to live all comes down to each individual choice.