Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment.

What damage does plastic do to the environment?

What can be done by the governments and individuals to solve this problem?

In recent years, as many industries started to boom, plastic waste - a negative consequence of that miracle, raised to be one of the main concerns of human beings besides other environmental issues. Although plastic products assist in creating a comfortable life, they are confirmed to be the most significant environmental enemy. In this essay, I will explain the destruction of plastic pollution to the environment and also suggest solutions for both governments and individuals to address that issue.

There is an undeniable fact that plastic waste harms not only human life but also other living species on Earth through its degrading process. Single-use plastic products normally end their life in various garbage dumps - either buried underground in some developed countries or abandoned unprocessed in other developing countries. In all situations, the plastic begins to degrade into smaller substances called plastic beads and is absorbed into rivers, sea and soil nearby. Plastic beads are then consumed by humans and other living beings either directly through natural resources or indirectly through smaller species as food, causing many harmful diseases.

In order to deal with this increasing global issue - plastic waste, we need efforts from both the government and individuals, which have their own approaches. Government can take advantage of a fiscal policy called tax to adjust the price of plastic products in general or completely ban a specific product from being used. For example, in Western Australia, the government has already published a ban on plastic bags in the community and a high tax rate on raw plastic materials for manufacturers. Other than the government efforts, every man should be aware of plastic waste arising as a potential threat and take action to reduce plastic dumps. For instance, single-use plastic water bottles or shopping bags and cutleries can be replaced efficiently and conveniently by other environmentally friendly materials.

In conclusion, this essay illustrates the adverse impact of plastic waste on the environment by producing plastic beads and suggests that governments and individuals have their own way of solving the global risk of plastic waste.