Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Now a days, we observe that a lot of candidates may apply for a single position so, in order to shortlist relavent candidates, employers ask for candidate information that may also include enquiries for personal information such as hobbies and marital status. There is a diagreement between two school of thoughts where one believes that this information is useful while the other disagress with this. I, personally, believe that getting information like hobbies/interests is usually useful in selecting right people for right job.

First of all, I would say that it is a win-win situation for employer and employee if a person is selected for the most suitable role as per his capabilities. In order to achieve this, information about the role and the candidate plays the vital role. As candidate should be well aware of the demands and expectations of the job, similarly, employer should be well aware about the profile of candidate and this can only be achieved by asking questions about the candidate. Some candidates may be professionally up to the mark for getting the job but their interests may make them not suitable for that particular role. For example, if an Engineer is applying for a role of backend developer and his interst are to interact with people or to work in a lively environemnt. But the role may require to work from home or this is maybe a short team with almost no interaction with other people. In this way, employer can guide the candidate that this job has a clash with you interests. Similarly maritial status can have some relationship to the role or job. So it is beneficial for both candidate and employer to have the personal information that may be relavent to job.

On the contrary, there is a school of thought who believes that asking personal information is not essential and this should not be enquired. They do argue that some people may not be comfortable in providing the information but due to thier interest in the job they have no choice to provide. Futhermore, personal data provided can be misused and there is always a chance for data leakage. So, in order to avoid such situation, personal data gethering should be avoided.

Coucluding the above discussion, I would say that asking for personal information that may be somehow relavent to the job is useful. Information may be disposed off after the completion of hiring process. Having all the relavent information is essential for assinging right person to the right role and that is benficial for both the parties.