Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Professional environments over the time have improved.Work places have become more friendly and allow for social interactions. The recruiters now look for the social personality and lifestyle along with the professional and technical skills.There is a hot debate over this topic wether social and personal skills are important characteristics to look for while hiring someone or only professional skills matter.

The advantage of knowing someone as a person along with their technical skills provides you the oppurtunity to asses their psychology and temprament. For instance, For hiring an HR manager, if a person is short temepred and lack proper communication skills, he or she would not be suitable for that particular job.

Judging people on basis of their nature or habits may sometimes cause the employer to overlook their capabilities as a professional.Personal activities and marital status does not affect the knowledge or make a person less capable. For example if a bachelorette having more experience is preferred over a married individual that would be unfair. If a candidate is hired just because they have the interests similar to those of the interviewer instead of their skills, that would be discrimination and the company would also be deprived of someone more professional.

To conclude, i would agree with the opinion that having knowledge of someone's personality is benificial but it should not be the criteria for hiring someone. It creates an interactive environment for the people working together and makes working easy and better.