Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

During job interviews, recruiters tend to ask the candidates personal questions like their marital status and interests. While some people approve of these questions, others think that it is unnecessary. In this essay, I will discuss both point views and give arguments as to why should employers inquire about some personal aspects of their potential employees.

It is true that while applying for a job, recruiters should focus on the applicant’s qualifications and experience rather than his or her personal preferences. In fact, employers should focus on the academic and professional aspects of the employees and make their decision, whether to give them the job or not, solemnly based on that. Otherwise, it will not be fair to them.

However, I think getting to know the candidate better by asking them some personal questions like their interests or if they were single or married is necessary because it can give the recruiter a better idea about what type of person he is going to employ. For example, knowing that someone likes to play sports can imply that the person is a team player and can work under pressure.

In conclusion, although employing people must be based on their academic and professional achievements, I believe knowing them on a personal level by asking them personal questions can help employers make their decision.