Employers sometimes ask people applying for job for personal information such as their hobbies and interests. And whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both this views and give your own opinion.

While being interviewed for a position prospective employees are likely to be asked personal details as their passion and marital status. Although there are propounding the idea that such inquiries may be relevant, others however take the opposing view. In my opinion, I consider that both employers and the people working for them can build up a good rapport if they know each other as people rather than professionals.

On the one hand, advocates of this policy assert that knowing about the staff; employers are able to make judicious decision when necessary. In other words, this background knowledge can be employed astutely to launch bonus scheme for diligent and dedicated employees whose efforts deserve to be acknowledge and acclaimed. For instance, if a manager is aware that someone of staff members is passionate about sports, the can opt for free tickets to a sport event as an added incentive. Furthermore both employers and staff may even find a great deal of common ground.

On the other hand, others may simply interpret this as the very epitome of invasion of privacy. To clarify, some of people feel uncomfortable when they have to share any personal information about certain aspects of their life that they wish to keep for themselves. This is amply illustrated by a particular incident in ones’ past such as a bitter divorce, which anyone might be reluctant to talk about especially when the first encounters are concerned. Moreover, job seekers are likely to fear that they might be judged based on their background rather than their professional and marketable skills.

To conclude, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that any piece of information irrelevant to the professional context should not be hidden. This is mainly because the vast majority of people are willing to build up perfect impression and relationship with managers based on shearing personal information.