Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your comment

Every employer has a right to know about his employee and can ask personal information when and if required. However, unnecessary information which are not related to the job description may be avoided. I will discuss both the views and provide my comments as well.

For a start some employers have made their habit to ask very irrelevant questions about the personality of an employee for example whether you like to wear some particular brand for shirts? Sometimes employers approach are very skeptical and therefore employees get exhausted with their question and answering sessions. Also, employers have a perception that employees outlook and their activities speaks about their personality let's say if an employee like to play chess that employee considered to be very intellectual however this may not be true as that employee is learning to play chess for entertainment purpose only and not to increase their intellectual thinking. Hence, the whole book cannot be judge by its cover.

On the other hand, it is strongly recommended that asking employees about their likes and dislikes their hobbies and interests are very important for any employer before they hire these employees. For instance if the job where employee is applying is involve extreme work pressure and therefore the employee may be require to work for long hours. Therefore, in order to fulfill the company's requirement the employee must not be a family man and should be single. In this scenario it is very important for the employer to know whether the employee has additional time to devote to the company. In addition to that some employers have a background in sports and therefore in order to qualify for employees in this company any kind of sports knowledge is necessary.

In my synopsis, employers may use the personal information about employees skillfully in a way that the employees do not feel offended by such questions. For example questions about his family. Employers must keep respect of the confidentiality of every employee and should take every measure to protect these information.