employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. others disagree

In the present age, more and more companies require job applicants to answer a questionnaris in the application process. But in the meantime, whether employers should ask the applicants for personal information or not has become a controversial issue. Although there is a huge horde of people who discord this notion, there are equivalent people who rather strongly advocate it. Before rendering my opinion, I think it is important to take a glance at the arguments on both sides.

People support this action because they believe that those information, such as the applicants’ hobbies and interests, are relevant and useful because it is a good way for employers to find out if the candidates fit the team or not. Plenty of evidence has shown that employees, who understand more about the company’s culture, are more likely to work harder and more happily, and the work results are always better because the company is a real team. People who share the same value are much easier to corporate with each other.

By contrast, some other stand on a very different ground. They point out that that personal information is not related to the candidate’s work abilities, and sometimes, employers may have bias on those applicants and the employers should not judge the job applicants by their personal lives. In fact, more and more employers in China ask female candidates their marriage status, even how many kids they have, because the employers believe married candidates, especially the ones have children, are better because they won’t have maternity leave in the future.

Having considered the respective merits of both vies, I would say that there is no definite answer to this question. As far as I am concerned, some personal information can be used to determine if the candidate is a good fit or not, such as hobbies and interests. However, some information, such as marriage status or how many children they have should not be a reason to reject a applicant and this is a discrimination.