Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information is relevant and useful. Other disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern era of globalisation, there are a plethora of employment opportunities in various fields. Organisations often enquire job aspirants about their private information such as their leisure activities, interests, and marital status. Proponents opine this data may be necessary and beneficial while opponents deny the same. This essay will elaborate on both views and argue why revealing personal interests is considered not to be an offence in the working environment.

On the one hand, providing basic information about oneself reveals a general idea about the person. Also, acquiring details such as interests and hobbies ensures whether the person is creative and thinks out of the box. Furthermore, this allows predicting whether individuals have the ability to perform multitasking. For instance, if a person is interested in content writing, the employer can provide the aspirant with an opportunity to showcase their talent in the project that requires content writing activity. Another point to consider is that ensuring the marital status can help organisations offer health benefits and insurance claims for their families.

On the other hand, proposing personal information develops trust issues with the organisation. Employees need to maintain privacy with regard to their personal details. This is because they feel that only work-related knowledge and skills need to be focused on and other details are not relevant to be disclosed in a professional working environment. Furthermore, opening up about their status does not provide healthy relationships among colleagues. To give a clear example, if an individual is divorced, he will not feel comfortable revealing it to the organisation.

In conclusion, although disclosure of personal interests and marital information can lead to trustworthy effects, these information help employers gain an overall idea about the person and pave the way to provide their employees with company benefits. Therefore it is evident that the positives outweigh the minimal negatives.