Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Nowadays, personal information about a candidate is requested such as hobbies, interests, and marital status during the application submission of a job. It is often argued that this is an irrelevant information, while others disagree and think this might be vital in the selection of an applicant. In my opinion, it is completely fine to request for private insights of a human being and this essay will also discuss both views.

To begin with, people applying to job sites must enter certain facts pertaining to their private life so that employers can better understand the social aspect of an individual. It is therefore agreed that revealing these details could be crucial for some employers as few companies make their decision based on these criteria. For instance, a part of multinational companies only prefers to hire single people due to their willingness to relocate as compared to a couple. It is therefore agreed that providing your relationship status along with your interests could prove to be a significant factor in choosing the right candidate.

On the other hand, many disagree and feel that presenting the personal identity is not related to the job requirement and a job seeker shouldn’t be deemed qualified or disqualified based on these filters. However, employers can easily search the history of an applicant through numerous platforms. For example, Linkedin/Facebook are one of the most effective tools that can be used to determine the professional and confidential traits of a person, even if the full biodata is not provided.

While part of the population still argues about the judging criteria of a work application, some still feel a job seeker should not need to be afraid of portraying their life particulates during this cycle. However, if such kind of criteria is only used to determine the social status required for a job, the benefits of using personal facts are clearly positive.