Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information ,such as their hobbies and interests ,and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the job interview the managements often query about the personal details like hobbies and interests. Few believe that personal information is inter related with the profession and meaningful. However, other does not hold the same notion. In my opinion, the profession and personal life is somehow mixed and moreover, it depend on the person how to accept that condition.

Firstly, majority of personal questions requested by the examiner are related to the profession. It varies from the post to post. For an illustration, the person applying for the job of night shift will be asked the question about his or her marriage as the management would prefer to appoint the bachelor employee. Thus, it is sufficient to provide details up to certain limit and it sometimes help the candidate to grab the opportunity for example. running as a hobby can help the competitor to secure position of emergency evacuation controller. I personally believe that asking personal questions can bridge a bond between employer and employee, which is beneficial for both.

Secondly, some does not prefer to share their private life as they think it is kind of discrimination for asking questions like religion, which shows biasedness from the employer. Furthermore, they prefer not to disclose their personal life as it makes them uncomfortable and things can have negative impacts on their profession.

In conclusion, I agree with the point of view, intervening with the private life of an individual up to some level during the question hour can help the candidate as well as employer to have good relationship for the future. Albeit, others wants to keep their professional and personal life completely segregated.