Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

There are several merits and demerits to share personal life with employers. Some people believe that personal facts is private and no one should access this kind of information. Others think that giving out these details to employers can be useful. From my perspective, every rose is accompanied with thorns, sharing privacy with employers has its own pros and cons.

On the one hand, the majority of people believe that the advantages of sharing personal information with the employer outweigh the disadvantages. The employers will know their employees better so they can choose qualified employees who fit perfectly into their work culture. Nowadays, there are software programs which can predict the character and intelligence of an employee based on their interests and hobbies. The employer can assess the amount of risk involved in recruiting a particular person with using these facts. Moreover, they can be useful in several other ways. For example, I had an accident while I was coming back from my office and my supervisor informed my family immediately after an onlooker called my office via my ID card.

On the other hand, some people believe that sharing privacy with employers is of limited use and it feels like giving access to your personal life; hence, it is an unreasonable demand and these details should not be asked. Based on personal experience, some employees especially females are stalked by their colleagues especially males who had access to their personal data. According to Dr. James Band, who is a psychologist in the University of Tehran, “people prefer to keep their secrets in their lives and they will be upset when their confidential information is disclosed.”

In conclusion, I firmly believe that giving personal data to employers has its advantages and disadvantages. Employers who request this information from their employees have a responsibility to ensure that this fact is not misused or shared with a third party without the employees’ consent. In addition, personal detail belonging to the employee should be only used for employees’ benefits.