Nowadays, job providers request candidates for personal information while recruiting. Some section of society believes that it voids individuals' personal privacy. Others with the opinion that this help recruiter in gauging the candidate. In my view, personal information should not be asked as personal choices don't affect the performance which an individual can deliver. This essay will examine both sides of the argument before reaching to a plausible conclusion.

Those who conceive that the personal information of prospective candidate matters argue that it aids them in selecting the right person for that job. For illustration, constructing industry usually ask job applicants about alcohol drinking habits as it can be hazardous to the person and those who around them if that person works under influence of alcohol. Besides the interviewer, the recruiter also asked for personal preference. As they see an opportunity to understand the prospective candidate which help them in placing the job applicant in the right company.

Those who opine that the interviewer doesn't have a right to ask personal questions argue that it voids the personal privacy of the individual. Most companies gauge the personal preference of job applicants in comparison with job requirements. For an instance, nowadays companies consider the prospective candidate social networking profile to gauge them. Many job aspirants believe that their academic and career performance be measured instead of their personal believes and opinions which they share over social networking sites.

To recapitulate, requesting for personal information during the interview is justified to some extend, but making a decision on the job applicant is ethically wrong. I believe that the personal information questionnaire should not be made compulsory for the job applicant but it should be kept as a personal choice, and this should not be a factor while selecting the candidate.