Environmental problems ore loo big for individual countries and individual persons for address. ln other words, we hove reached a stage where the only way to protect the environment is at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Ever-increasing environment related problems are the gravest international concerns, nowadays. Some experts believe that initiatives at countries or personal level are not effective anymore, and international community need to intervene for safeguarding environment. However, I personally disagree as groundwork for this problem still requires efforts at state and personal level.

State, to begin with, need to start new initiatives for prohibitive actions against deteriorating environment. Aggressive infrastructure development can lead to environmental destruction in developing countries and It is state’s duty to maintain proper pollution checks in such cases. Additionally, government should also come up with the policies and initiatives that focus on raising awareness about importance of well-being of the natural habitat. ‘Swach Bharat Abhiyan’ is one such example, this policy was introduced by Government of India in the year 2018 to improve cleanliness in the country.

Citizens perhaps have the second most crucial role to play after country in preserving surroundings. People have the access to their home where governments can not intervene and it becomes the responsibility of the family to keep hygiene at their homes, and also assure that the garbage accumulated at home is not degrading local environment. They should have setup for recycling setup in the house which will help reducing overall waste generation per house. Finally, as a responsible citizen we ought to maintain cleanliness at public sites such as community parks, in the neighborhood.

It might be true that pressure exerted from international stages such as the U.N. might help speeding up the prohibitive actions at nation level, however ground work still needs to be done by local authorities or the public.

Overall, it appears that organizations operating internationally may perhaps be able to build a certain amount of pressure on nations with degraded environmental conditions however most of the patch work for fixing this problem will still be done by countrymen or the country itself.