Essay Topic: Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

New technologies provide people with faster and more convenient communication tools. This leads to substitution of live meetings for virtual communication and changes the social habits of people in this way. I’m not agree it’s purely negative for two reasons. Firstly, going on-line does not discourage friendship but goes on top to face-to-face meetings. Secondly, in many cases such communication becomes the only way to socialize and thus it even improves the social lives for some people. In my essay I would escribe both reasons in more details.

The first reason why I don’t think social lives suffer from new technologies is that people actually do not stop communicating. Moreover, they are connected 24/7, being able to get in touch with any person at any time. There are lots of circumstances why people don’t meet as often as they would like to (i.e. lack of time, money or laziness), and the rareness of meetings could lead to weakening of relations. Social media, messengers or emails on the other hand give you an opportunity to stay in touch despite all the excuses for face-to-face meeting. Personally, I meet monthly with my friend and as well we chat on-line almost daily hereby maintaining and improving our relationship. This exemplifies new technologies improve social life and explains why I do not support the opinion on negative effect.

A second idea is that on-line communication is actually improves the social lives in some cases being the only way to contact other people. For instance, people could stay connected even being located in remote areas. Another example is when a person could not physically get in touch with others due to physical inability or geographical isolation. In such cases virtual connection could become the only way to avoid social isolation and brighten one’s social live. These examples clearly show that new way of communication could not worsen but even improve the level of socialization, which is purely in contrast to the given opinion regarding the negative effect of hi-tech communication tools on social lives.

To summarize, I believe that popular nowadays way of communication improves the socialization via being more accessible and through eliminating the barriers to connection between people. Thus, I don’t support the idea of social lives being negatively affected by communication via electronic devices. I think that in the future this connection would become an important part of our social lives but not fully at expense of face-to-face meeting with friends.