In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially be younger people, is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably, or is it something which we shohuld try to prevent?

With the urbanization and globalization boom, some traditional dialects are not using anymore in favor to wide-spreaded languages. In my essay, I will try to analyse whether we could take it as certainty, or try to avoid neglecting language diversity.

On the one hand, with more and more people moving from rural areas, where dialects still exist, the need for these dialects demeans, as there are less native speakers leave. Those who move to urban areas, don’t need the language of their ancestors for day-to-day interaction. Moreover, these families foster their children in a new language environment, which means that languages not being handing over to new generations. It might not cause any harm neither for society nor for individuals in terms of their financial, physical or social condition.

On the other hand, though, language is closely linked to the culture and history of any folk. Thus, losing a language or dialect, we as a nation could lose a meaningful part of our cultural and historical heritage. This could be compared with a loss of Russian traditional performances with the skomorokhs, which was the most popular entertainment in pre-revolutionary Russia. Furthermore, the abundance of people’s culture and neglecting minority languages, people would probably devolve cultural diversity, which enriches our society. It would be a sour world without legends of aboriginal habitats of Siberia or America. Taking into account these aspects, it could worth trying to protect the linguistical diversity on our planet.

To summarize, it appears that while the lower usage of some unique dialects might be perceived as an inevitable consequence of modern life, the linguistic and cultural diversity could be a meaningful reason for trying to preserve endangered languages.