Some people say that the Internet is responsible for destroying social skills of teenagers and young adults.

Why do you think the Internet is seen as dangerous in this way and what can we do to ensure that it does not harm the social development of teenagers and young adults?

The development of technologies sometimes could influence human’s behaviour: the advent of the Internet, for example, provoked people to interact online. Many say that this negatively influences the social skills of the young generation. In my essay, I will consider some of the causes and possible solutions to this problem.

One of the major trends of the last decade became the virtualization of people’s communication. People around the world could be seen tapping the screens of their smartphones, chatting with each other this way. E-mails, messengers and social media often substitute face-to-face interaction behind providing fast, cheap and convenient alternative to live dialogue. This could considerably harm immature verbal and non-verbal skills of youth, as they didn’t have a chance to develop their communication skills prior to the Internet era advent.

To tackle this issue, several actions might be considered. One of the possible remedies could be an introduction of the Internet-free days at families or at schools. This would motivate juveniles to be engaged in face-to-face interaction. On the other hand, it might help, if the range of activities would be offered to adolescents. For example, the organization of sports events, outdoor activities or table games clubs would encourage youngsters to alter virtual interaction to the live one. Moreover, as often teens are considered to be easily influenced by celebrities, the last could be used to promote live interaction and gadgets-free days.

To summarize, the Internet could hamper the development of juvenile’s social skills via replacing live interaction at some level, but there are some possible solutions to this issue could be undertaken. This might help to find the right balance between an online and face-to-face interaction, enabling youngsters to develop both skills.