Euthanasia, or mercy killing, has been a controversial issue for many years. Although many people are strongly against such a practice, there is a growing demand to have it legalised. How far do you agree with euthanasia is being made legal?

The concept of mercy killing that is deliberately killing oneself for the sake of easing his pain, is increasing. Growing concerns are becoming heated question among people that euthanasia must be made legitimate as it is useless to spend huge amount of money to treat incurable disease. Despite this, it is disagreed because palliative care would eventually disappear. Moreover psychiatric disorders would also seek euthanasia as the only solution. This essay will discuss adverse effects if mercy killing will be legalised.

Firstly, mercy killing is inhuman. Terminally ill patients who require palliative treatment to ease their pain will intentionally or deliberately push towards euthanasia to end their sufferings either by medical staff or relatives. According to a research paper published by " Institution of Palliative care" in 2016 states that less than one third of patient demand for mercy killing due to pain remaining are those who are dependable on others for basic activities and our less hopeful for life. Thus, it is clear that mercy killing will negatively influence the patient to kill their life instead to seek palliative care or counselling to return back to normal life.

Secondly, evolving concerns would also incline patients suffering with psychiatric disorder such as depression, anxiety and schizophrenia to seek mercy killing as the last resort. A recent survey conduct in India concludes that after mercy killing becoming a law, more than 80% of cases received in court are pertain to psychiatric illness. Consequently, rather than patient following for medical treatment moves towards door of court and if their petition is not obliged they commit suicide. As a result suicide ration increases by 20%. The argument that euthanasia must be legalised can be debunked as it will increases the ratio of other factors which are difficult to control if sustained.

To conclude, euthanasia and mercy killing practices are growing and debated on various platforms. Legalisation of such act will under mine palliative treatment and increase suicide ratios among specifically among psychiatric patients if their request are not obliged because their state of mind is already in a situation where they seek medical advice. Hence, life is a precious gift from almighty and he is knows what is best for his mankind.