Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor.

What are some of the reasons for world poverty? What can we do to help the poor?

More than half of the world’s population lives under the poverty line. This is a global phenomenon and underdeveloped countries are specifically affected by it. Efforts are being made to eliminate the world’s poverty by different means whereas ever increasing factors continuously contributing to the problem.

As an adage reads “Give fish to the poor, they will eat it for the day and become hungry again, train them how to fish to make them independent”. The foremost cause of the poverty is increasing population, as a result, shortage of food and other resources are prevalent. The collective struggle to be directed by the international community to spread awareness so that this problem can be tackled. On the other hands, the underprivileged nations should be given latest food production technologies to enhance the productivity of various crops.

In addition to the population, the global conflicts are a major source of this menace. The wars spending and the resultant destructions of the infrastructures shattered the economies of the countries, resultantly, the dwellers pushed into the poverty. Instead of having large earmarked budgets for defense and wars, these funds could be spent on the development of the people. It is evident that wherever a peace is present, the poverty is relatively low.

The lack of education also contributes to the world’s poverty as the poor cannot afford to get their off-springs education which leads them into the same state as their parents. The teaching enlightens the mind and the people can actively participate in their own wellbeing. This will not only help them to become a productive member of a society but also reduce the global problem. The Government of every country should provide the education at its expense considering it as a basic human right.