Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Human evolve languages to exchange ideas, to communicate each other. It is absolutely true that people adopt the easiest mean to survive or perform, so does in language selection. I am completely accord with the notion that fewer languages will help to have a comfortable life in the globe.

To embark on, in today’s globalize world, it becomes mandatory for several communities to learn the most spoken languages such as English, French etc. to do business with other nations. For instance, Japan has realized that to survive in this competitive world their children must learn English, and they have included in their schooling curriculum. Even though an individual has the ability, one has unable to compete with foreign students in various events due to lack of common language proficiency like English. In fact, less number of dialects will reduce the differences among human, and everyone can travel around the world without much restriction. To illustrate, various non-English speaking person avoids to travel abroad or avoids to make friend with other country due to lack of command on English.

However, with less number of dialects, the variety in culture would be less in the world. Life of people would become monotonous, and excitement level to travel to a foreign land would not be so fun like today, where we live in a planet of hundreds of languages that means hundreds of cultures to explore. Moreover, language variety might be helpful for our developments as well. For example, Sanskrit- an ancient Hindu language- useful for machine learning as compare to the most common language English.

To sum up, although language variety allow us to live in a multicultural environment, but it becomes hindrance for our future development. World would be a global village if varieties in dialects would be less. However, people must save originality of their language so that it might be useful in our future development like Sanskrit.