Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Indubitable, life would be less complicated when the amount of languages spoken will be common, even as it is proven that a handful of them are found to be non-existent each year. I partially concur with the kind of notion even though there may be a drawback to it.

To commence with, having fewer languages will be the edge of globalization. This is because there would be lesser communication barrier among individuals, leading to more international travel, interracial marriages, and relocation of residence. For example, an Indian who can speak English, can be encouraged to travel to the US, and because he loves the weather and can communicate effectively, he decides to relocate to the new nation. After relocation, he or she can start a new life which could only be possible with the elimination of language barrier. However, it may be impossible if the person speaks his native language.

Moreover, there will be better comity of nations because it will douse international tensions as the leadership of these lands likely understand themselves better. For instance, international trades war may not so be intense if they had a common factor of communication. If the language among countries will be decline, then the world will more focus climate change by contributing their enormous resources and trade benefits. This will be worthy cause rather than antagonizing each other commercially.

On the contrary, the extinction of less spoken languages can lead to cultural loss. This would also harm the roots and the modern civilization of the society who will be unknown about their roots and where they come from. For example, most of the countries in Europe will gradually obliterate their culture as they speak more English and do not accept their views and perception of life. Yet, this can be resolved if upcoming generation should learn about the history and culture of their roots and do not extinct their language, but should spoke only in their community. With this kind of development, the nations will be more friendly among each other and the world will be a good place to live.

To conclude, lesser languages will decline the rate of language barriers among global community, but it comes with its price. So, a person should speak common languages to reduce the communication barriers among themselves yet, without necessarily leaving out each individual dialect.