Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity. How far do you share this viewpoint?

There is an opinion that all people should take part in charity donations in an equal percentage of their income. I could not agree with this statement, and I will explain the reasons in this essay.

Firstly, making charity an obligatory cost for working people might meet a negative reaction and even cause a social protest. This possibly would be treated as a tax growth, which would negatively influence people’s real income levels. Raising taxes is a sensitive topic for any society and, thus, should be better avoided if not for an extremely serious reason. Secondly, in different life situations people’s willingness to share their income could change dramatically. By this we mean that a person could donate significantly above average when she or he has a strong financial situation, and entirely refuse paying in different situation. And this choice is better to be kept, as charity should not become a burden for a volunteer. And the final reason is that there are many problems with are under-supported by the governments and charity becomes an alternative program to tackle the issues. But different people could decide to support different issues, based on their attitude to a one or another problem. The charity provides an opportunity to any man to make a significant impact for the most personal problem, and to feel his or her importance this way. If charity lost the variety of options, the willingness to support would decline significantly, as not a lot of people would be motivated to support issues with are not important to them.

It is true that charity is an important program which gives a chance or help to people, who faced with a difficult situation. But this should be a voluntary action for each person. So everybody could take a personal decision on which amount to donate at each moment of life.

To conclude, charity is an important tool to tackle some social problems, which are not covered by the governments. But it is important to keep it voluntary so every person could decide which program to support and with which amount of his or her budget.