"Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are

solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they

are also responsible for bringing the children up."

Parenthood is an important and celebratory milestone in life of an adult and both parents should take equal responsibility and have equal importance in the decision to bring a life into this world and in raising a child. I agree with this statement that only women are held responsible to make this choice of motherhood and they only end up taking the whole responsibility of upbringing of an offspring. This mindset leads to deleterious impact on a child’s physical as well as psychological development and it deprives women of equal opportunities in other aspects of life especially at professional front. This essay shall discuss vitality of involvement of both parents in decision of becoming a parent and in upbringing of child.

Evidence suggests that a growing child needs both of his parents during formative years. absence and negligence of any of the parent can be instrumental in hampering a child’s psychological as well as physical growth. A study conducted by British society of Psychology conducted in Harvard university suggests that a child raised in neglect of any of his parent, whether mother or father, resulted in development of behavioral abnormalities and delay in appearance of growth and developmental milestones in comparison to child who was raised in an environment whether both of his parents took active role in parenting, not only by monetary support but physical presence of both of parents is vital.

Furthermore, by holding mother entirely responsible for birth and upbringing of child, she is being deprived of opportunity to explore other domains of her life such as professional life, which is partial and sexist. For instance, in a recent report approximately 15% women are sacrificing their professional lives due to maternal responsibilities, no such trend was seen in amongst men. This pattern is detrimental for both women, society as well as for whole of the nation, as no nation and society can flourish without involvement of a woman, history has repeatedly taught mankind this lesson.

To sum up with, giving choice of giving birth and upbringing of an offspring should be a shared responsibility for both of the sexes. The mentality of holding only women for this decision can have a negative impact on growth and development of a child and woman are being deprived of right of equal opportunities of life and hence resulting in an unbalanced nation and society.