As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time?

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has undoubtedly revolutionized every aspect of mankind’s life including linguistic abilities. It is proposed that as computers are able to translate any language promptly and precisely, hence spending time to learn any foreign language is mere wastage of time. I completely disagree with this view. I believe that linguistic skills such as learning other languages is vital for social as well as psychological development of an individual. This essay shall discuss advantage of learning foreign language.

There is a very compelling evidence suggesting learning skills such as foreign languages are vital for development of cognition centers of human brain, hence making an individual intellectually strong. For instance, a study conducted by British psychological society proved that Multilinguals had more Intelligent quotient and has more reasoning and thinking abilities as compared those speaking one language.

Furthermore, learning foreign language gives an individual an opportunity to get exposed to outer world. Being able to understand language of other cultures and society makes an individual able to learn foreign culture, discoveries, advancements and is an asset for improving social interaction globally. For example, majority of world’s medicinal and scientific researchers are being published in English language, a medical practitioner whose native language is not English but he is affluent in English, would be able to understand discoveries of outer world and would be able to apply in his practice, hence benefitting himself as well as society and this example applies to all other fields.

To sum up with, technology has undeniably eased our lives, but learning skill such as learning foreign language is beneficial socially as well as individually. Learning this skill increases cognition hence empowering intellect and expose an individual to discoveries and advancements of outer world. depending on computers for such skill will make us psychologically as well as socially handicapped.