In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

Trend of encouraging children to voluntarily participate in paying jobs is prevalent in some nations. Although, it is considered to be damaging to child’s physical and psychological growth, I entirely disagree with this view, I believe that participating in work environment at an early age helps child to adjust to reality of adulthood later, making him financially responsible, resourceful and teaches practicality of skills learnt in school. However, a child should not be indulged in work in extremes to deterrent to his education or physical growth. This essay shall discuss the merits of getting indulged in work environment at early age.

Being in employment is entirely different from being a student or than a staying in a safe niche created by parents, resulting in failure to cope up with work stress in many people in later part of life. Exposing child to a work environment early in life teaches a child work ethics, how to cope up and manage stress and make them financially responsible. All of which gives a child edge over others who have never been employed in their lives.

Furthermore, working early in lives although part time undoubtedly provides a child economic benefits, which he can utilize for leisure or study. Take for instance, it is a trend to take a gap year after school and before going to university to travel abroad or take up some hobby or learn some skill, rather than being burden on family financially a child can utilize his own earned money to opt any option and enrich his experience.

In addition, work place can act as a laboratory, where a child can execute skills learnt in school. To exemplify if a child is working as an accountant in a restaurant, he can imply his skills of core subjects such as computers and mathematics in accounting and further sharpen them.

That being said, while working a child should not let his education or health suffer. There is a chance that few children loose interest studies and may never want to go to school again. parents and authorities can keep check on that. Authorities should set a certain age and limited hours for a child to get involved in work to avoid any malpractice.

To sum up with, getting indulged in a work environment at an early age enriches child ‘s intellect and finances, makes him acquainted to real world reality and provide a chance to practice and strengthen their skills. However, there should be a balance between work, education and health of a child.